Field Experience #6

Observations:

This week I did my full day teaching as well as my final observation with Mrs. Jackson. During my full day teaching, I was able to see so much more of how the classroom operates throughout the day. I am only able to see the children learn their English lessons in the morning, so I enjoyed being able to watch the students learn math and be able to help them with this as well.


Learning Experiences:

This week one of the things I learned was how important it is to keep the students attention span all day, and too make sure they are still getting time for breaks. This is why times such as recess are so important. It allows the kids to get the breaks they need throughout a full school day and to be able to let their energy out at such a young age. I also learned how important it is to really get to know each of your students. This is something I noticed with my cadet teacher, because she formed many lessons and plans around each of the students and decided techniques based off of what was best for them.


Reflections:

After reflecting back on this week, one thing I felt very confident in was my final lesson. I was nervous at first, but I felt reassured by each of the students as I watched them get so excited to see me teach them and listen to my read aloud. It was so fun being able to have the opportunity one last time to be able to teach these students information and have them apply it to an activity and do so well. It helped me appreciate teaching even more and just how exciting and rewarding this profession could be if I decide to do it in my future.


Stories to Share:

One story I had from this week was during my final lesson. As I was reading my read aloud to all the students, they were sitting on the carpet. During this, one young girl was sitting in front of me and kept inching forward throughout the entire story, trying to get closer and closer to the book. It made me realize just how important it is to read a story with excitement to the class so you can gain their full attention. I loved being able to know that one girl was so eager to hear more about the story while I was reading.


 

Leave a comment