Field Experience #7

Observations:

This week was my last week during field experience. During my last few days, I tried to spend as much of the time as I could soaking in the last few times I would be at this class. I observed just how much the students have grown from the time I first started their till the end. I also loved watching the students making pictures for me and other crafts to keep. Observing how much the students grew in their learning, and trust in me as well, showed me the importance of having teachers who care.


Learning Experiences:

This week the students were spending time learning about how they can use context clues and opinions they have from a story, and write them down into a well organized thought on paper. The students were also reading information from a text and being told to answer questions from the text. The skills are crucial for the students to start to understand because they will continue to use them further on in during their educational journey.


Reflections:

After reflecting back on this week, it thought about how much this experience has meant to me. I’ve had to opportunity to get to know each of these students and impacted me so much. On my last day I brought each of them cookies and juice boxes, and they were so excited to get this. But when they realized it was my last day they got sad and many of them drew me notes and made other crafts as gifts for me to remember them by. It made me realize how much the opportunity meant to me and Im glad I was able to see what it was like to be in an actual learning environment as I used the knowledge I had learned from the teacher cadet course prior.


Stories to Share:

On my last field experience day, I gave each of the students cookies and juice to eat and enjoy. After many of them gave me their gifts they made in class, and I was about to leave, many of the students ran up to me and gave me a hug goodbye. They were all so sad to see me leave. This made me sad, but also grateful that the small impact I had on the children was positive and I was someone they were going to miss. I really valued my time during this experience and it taught me more than I thought it would!


 

Leave a comment