Field Experience #5

Observations:

During this weeks field experience, one of the things I observed was all the students get so intrigued in each of the lessons that were taught. I found this interesting because as students get older, its harder to keep their focus. When kids are at a young age, teachers have many different techniques so that the children will be eager to learn. I found this very important because I think teachers should have this same mentality for students in older grades as well.


Learning Experiences:

This week I observed my class do a writing sample and then many of the students read independently to me. It was very interesting to see how different each students level of comprehension is right now. Some of the students have no problem getting their thoughts down on paper and being able to read words to me while others are still struggling. This helped me to see just how crucial this time of education is for children at this age. Its very important to not only work on their reading skills inside of school but also outside of school because this is when their brain is developing most.


Reflections:

After reflecting back on this week, I think I have grown a better understanding of just how important the early years of childhood education are. Although this age might seem to be fun, its also very crucial. The material the children learn at this point of time is crucial for development and preparing them for the future. I’ve enjoyed being able to have the opportunity to be apart of each of the students educational journeys and it has made me more confident in the idea of possibly pursuing education in my future.


Stories to Share:

This week what I remember most is listening to the kids share stories about themselves. Many times they will do this during a read aloud and I believe it is the best way to check to see if they are understanding the story. I love hearing each of the students making connections because it not only shows they are staying focused, but it shows they are capable of using context clue to come up with a connection.


 

Leave a comment