Blog #11

Read-Alouds:

We didn’t have any this week.


Learning Experiences:

During the past couple of weeks, our class was working on our model lessons. Me and my partner did a math lesson and it was challenging and fun getting to plan we would be doing during our lesson. After working on the lessons and listening to our classmates present theirs, I learned new techniques that would help me prepare for field experience. We also got the chance to watch a video of ourselves presenting our lesson. This was a great opportunity for me to be able to critic myself and see what I need to work on so I can be prepared for field experience in the near future.


Current Event:

There has been a recent proposal by Betsy DeVos that costing $5 billion about school choice. It allows parents to send their kids to private or public schools of their choice from k-12. Many democrats in congress are against it because of how big of a federal tax cut it will be. Many people in congress have said this would be a decisions states can make individually about what kids can go to certain schools.

Current Event Link


Quote of the Week:

What greater joy can a teacher feel than to witness a child’s success?

― Michelle L. Graham

I feel this quote is important because it describes the best goals one should have when teaching. Teachers have the ability to change students lives and inspire them to be the best they can. When teachers have enough patience and truly spend time working with their kids, they are able to see their goal of their success achieved. 


Observations:

During the past few weeks, I have observed how eager many of the senior students are to be graduating and are experiencing what is known as “senioritis”. I myself am experiencing this as well. When seeing how this is affecting many of the students, by causing them to procrastinate and not get all of their work done, it has showed me how important it is to stay on top of my work during the last few months of high school because grades are still very important. My goal is to try my hardest the next couple of months before graduation and enjoy my little amount of time left in high school.


Reflections:

After reflecting back on the past couple of weeks, I feel very prepared to enter field experience. Our model lessons were a great way for us to display and illustrate everything we have learned this year into one final project. We are starting field experience next week and I am nervous and excited to begin using all the information I’ve learned in this class in a real teaching environment!


 

Leave a comment