Blog #10

Read-Alouds:

We didn’t have any read-alouds this time.

 


Learning Experiences:

Last week, we had a really fun day were we visited 6 different schools and got to go into different classrooms for different grade levels and observe how they function. I found this experience really important because each classroom we visited was very different. We visited one classroom at H.E. Corley and we were able to see children who had IEPs that were very young. We were also able to see students in higher grades as well, all the way up to 8th grade, at Dutch Fork Middle. Being able to observe such different classroom environments helped me better understand all the possible options one has to choose from when becoming a teacher, and how one must choose level that they feel best fit for them.


Current Event:

Sarah D. Sparks has recently done a study after observing a fourth grade class in Chicago. She brought her founding together and came up with the idea that most kids learn better when they use technology individually. She said that learning programs that help pitch technology, help to engage students better. There were also recent studies done that shows even with online rigorous programs, students were able to learn more than they could with face-to-face teachers. Online activities can help better track how much students are progressing through lessons and also have so many more benefits that helps students individually.

-Face-to-Face, Personal Connections Given Greater Attention in Classes(Sarah D. Sparks)


Quote of the Week:

“Our task, regarding creativity, is to help children climb their own mountains, as high as possible. No one can do more.” -Loris Malaguzzi

I think this quote is important because I feel that an important task teachers have is to inspire their students. Teachers are the ones who educate, and help people want to become doctors, lawyers, and so much more. If we don’t have teachers who inspire others, than no one will be able to reach their own mountains or grow as high as possible. 


Observations:

During observation day were we went to different schools and observed different classrooms, one thing I noticed was how different each school was. Some schools seemed so much nicer and way more funded than others. This really upset me because I wished every school was equally as nice and had the same type of learning environments so that the children had equal environments to learn in.


Reflections:

After completing observation day, I think I have created a better understanding of what grade level I want to teach in. I had so much fun observing the younger, elementary school grade levels and I think that after reflecting back on this trip, it would be more fun to teach 2nd or 3rd graders. I hope I can get these grades for field experience, and one day be able to teach these grades as a career if I choose to be a teacher!


 

Leave a comment