Field Experience #3

Observations:

This week I did my first lesson. I felt very confident doing my lesson but one thing I observed was how the students acted toward me compared to my teacher when teaching. The students felt that they didn’t have to try as hard during the written assessment and I this is one thing I want to discuss with my teacher. I want to find ways to gain the same attention that she gets from her students as well.


Learning Experiences:

This week the students were learning how to analyze stories and answer questions with an explanation using context clues. While the students were learning this information, I was learning more about the students and how each of them learn at different paces. I have learned how important it is for the students to do brain activities such as dances to help their brains grow which helps them function more and learn more. I want to try and incorporate these into my lessons from now on because I feel that they are very crucial.


Reflections:

After reflecting back on this week, and doing my first lesson, I have really started to enjoy the idea of teaching and being able to do field experience. I felt very confident in my lesson and my students seemed really excited to have me teaching their class. I prepared my lesson with enough time in advance and had no problems completing the lesson. Im eager to begin doing more lessons and be able to have more experience teaching so I can decide if this is what I want to do when I get older.


Stories to Share:

This week I completed my first lesson and the students were so excited to hear I would be teaching them. It was so sweet watching all the kids jump up and down and hug me as soon as they saw me go up to the front of the classroom to begin the reading. It made me feel way more confident in teaching my lesson because it thought the students were not going to be that excited for me to teach. During the assessment, the students have to draw a pic of a duck or a rabbit and the students all wanted to show me their artwork and give it to me. It was such an amazing experience and I cant wait to teach my next lesson.


 

Leave a comment